Caltech Home > PMA Home > News > Caltech Faculty Named AMS Fellows
open search form

Caltech Faculty Named AMS Fellows

Nine members of Caltech's faculty have been named to the inaugural class of Fellows of the American Mathematical Society (AMS). According to the AMS, the distinction recognizes members of the society "who have made outstanding contributions to the creation, exposition, advancement, communication, and utilization of mathematics." There are 1,119 Fellows in the inaugural class from more than 600 institutions.

Caltech's Fellows are

Tom Apostol, Professor of Mathematics, Emeritus

Michael Aschbacher, Shaler Arthur Hanisch Professor of Mathematics

Danny Calegari, Richard Merkin Distinguished Professor of Mathematics

Yizhao Thomas Hou, Charles Lee Powell Professor of Applied and Computational Mathematics

Alexander Kechris, Professor of Mathematics

Wilhelmus Luxemburg, Professor of Mathematics, Emeritus

Hirosi Ooguri, Fred Kavli Professor of Theoretical Physics and Mathematics

Dinakar Ramakrishnan, Taussky-Todd-Lonergan Professor of Mathematics

Barry Simon, International Business Machines Professor of Mathematics and Theoretical Physics

"I'm delighted that the American Mathematical Society has recognized so many of our mathematics faculty for inclusion in their first class of Fellows," says Tom Soifer, chair of the Division of Physics, Mathematics and Astronomy. "This is a clear recognition of the quality and stature of our mathematics faculty by the world's largest and most influential society for mathematical research and education."

Written by Marcus Woo

Caltech Media Relations