open search form

Stone Awarded Goddard Astronautics Award

Ed Stone, the David Morrisroe Professor of Physics at Caltech and lead scientist on the Voyager 1 and Voyager deep-space probe missions since 1972, was awarded the Goddard Astronautics Award from the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) at a gala ceremony on May 11 in Washington D.C.

The Goddard Award, which honors rocketry pioneer Robert H. Goddard, is the highest honor bestowed by the AIAA; previous winners include Theodore von Karman, James van Allen, Werner von Braun, and Charles Elachi.

Stone joined Caltech's faculty as a research fellow in 1964, the same year he received his PhD from the University of Chicago, and achieved the rank of full professor in 1976. A principal investigator on nine NASA spacecraft missions and coinvestigator on five others, he was formerly director of the Jet Propulsion Laboratory.

Written by Kathy Svitil

Caltech Media Relations