Caltech Home > PMA Home > Research & Academics > Physics > Physics Prizes & Awards > Winners of the R. Bruce Stewart Prize for Excellence in Teaching Physics
open search form

Winners of the R. Bruce Stewart Prize for Excellence in Teaching Physics

The Stewart Prize is to be awarded to a graduate student teaching assistant who demonstrates, in the broadest sense, unusual ability, creativity, and innovation in undergraduate/graduate classroom or laboratory teaching of physics. Named in honor of R. Bruce Stewart, who served as the Founder, Chairman and CEO of Arrowhead Reearch in Pasadena. Mr. Stewart was a successful entrepreneur who also started and funded over 18 companies in biotechnology, media technology licensing, direct marketing and early internet applications. Throughout his lifetime Mr. Stewart was a great friend to Caltech, supporting and often partnering in the work done by faculty and students. The prize is made possible by memorial gifts made by family and friends of R. Bruce Stewart. All graduate teaching assistants who teach physics classes are eligible as long as they are a current graduate student at Caltech. Nominations for the Stewart Prize may be made by any member of the Caltech community, including faculty, students, postdoctoral scholars, alumni, and staff.

2024 - Mrunmay Jagadale

2023 - Nicholas Rui

2022 - Annika Dugad

2021 - Daniel Van Beveren

2020 - Rajashik Tarafder

2019 - Ashmeet Singh

2018 - Anthony Bartolotta

2017 - Samuel Savitz, Min-Feng Tu

2015 - Peter Hung