Southern California Number Theory Day 2015

Saturday, April 18, 2015
Sloan Building, RM 151

Please register at the conference sign-in table if you have not already registered online.


9:30 - 10:00 - Refreshments

10:00 - 11:00 - Rachel Ollivier (University of British Columbia)
"Torsion pairs in the representation theory of Iwahori-Hecke algebras"

11:00 - 11:30  - Break

11:30 - 12:30 - Claus Sorensen (UC San Diego)
"Ordinary representations and local-global compatibility"

12:30 - 2:30 - Lunch Break

2:30 - 3:30 - Melanie Wood (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
"Random groups in number theory and random integral matrices"

3:30 - 4:00 - Break

4:00 - 5:00 - Samit Dasgupta (UC Santa Cruz)
"On abelian p-adic Stark conjectures over real quadratic fields"

6:00 - Dinner


Parking: Parking at Caltech is free on the weekends. Please park in the lot located on California Blvd (lot 3) which can be located on this map.

Directions: Directions to Caltech can be found by following this link. A map of the Pasadena area can be found here. If you need a hotel, the Saga Motor Hotel and Vagabond Inn are close and affordable (please ask for the Caltech rate).

Dinner: Dinner after the seminar will be held at Heider Baba which is within walking distance of campus (about a 20 minute walk). The charge will be $25 per person ($15 per person for students) and does not include beverages. Please pay by cash or check (made out to Caltech) the day of the dinner.

Lecture Organizers: Dinakar Ramakrishnan, Matthias Flach, Elena Mantovan

Attendees (in no particular order):

Edwin Cruz
Alice Silverberg
Karl Rubin
Fancesc Castella

Chan-Ho Kim
Daniel Siebel
Majid Hadian
Maria Nastesescu

Nathan Lawless
Christopher Ormerod
Lin Weng
Sridhar Jagannathan
Ashay Burungale
Claus Sorensen
Nahid Walji
Daniel Hallman
Maike Scherer
Jaclyn Lang
Bisi Agboola
Dinakar Ramakrishnan
Elena Mantovan
Matthias Flach
Pablo Solis
Andrei Frimu
Corina Panda
Jay Daigle

Jim Tao
Liubomir Chiriac
Zhaorong Jin
J. Paul Vicknair
Edward Fan
Brian Hwang
Foo Yee Yeo
Pei-Yu Tsai
Serin Hong
Don Blasius

Names in bold are attending dinner