Caltech Home > PMA Home > Research & Academics > Physics > Physics Prizes & Awards > Carl A. Rouse Memorial Fund Recipients
open search form

Carl A. Rouse Memorial Fellowship Recipients

The Rouse Memorial Fellowship is awarded annually to provide summer research support for an undergraduate student, preferably an underrepresented minority, participating in the LIGO SURF program. The Fellowship was established by the family of Caltech alumnus Dr. Carl A. Rouse, PhD '56, who was the first African American to earn his doctorate in Physics at the Institute.

2022 - Ojo Akinwale, University of Maryland College Park
           Peter Carney, University of California Riverside
           Oscar Sy-Garcia, 
University of Wisconsin-Madison

2021 - Nicholas-Tyler Howard, Cal Poly Pomona
           Osama Elgabori, Wesleyan University
           Sabrina Barbaro, Boston University

2020Erin Wilson, Spellman College

2019 - Mahlet Shiferaw, Harvard College
            Afura Taylor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2018 - Jillian Doane, Oberlin College
            Alicia Lima, Bowdoin College
            John Martyn, University of Maryland

2017 - Amani Garvin, Columbia University
            Jordan Kemp, Tufts University
            Osase Omoruyi, Yale University

2016 - Ogbonnaya Udochu, Southern University
            Bria Storr, Fisk University

2015 - Carl Fields, Arizona State University
            Albert Wandui, Stanford University

2014 - Carell Hamil, New York University